Let’s Make a Deal

Today was a big day.

And I mean REALLY big day.

THIS became mine!

Oh yes, that’s right, I bought a new (used) car!  It was a big decision to make but I honestly feel it was the right one.  I know the lifetime on my Focus doesn’t have as much left as I want it to and I decided I would rather get some money (for a down payment) than drive in into the ground and get nothing.  And since it was due for new tires and I was not willing to put any money other than an oil change (which was also due!) it seemed the time to really start looking.

Yesterday I went to CarMax and got a quote for my car, walked the lot and test drove three different kinds: Volkswagen, KIA, and Honda.

I LOVED the Volkswagen; the KIA was super sensitive and kind of jolty but smooth, and the Honda I did not like, I felt like I couldn’t tell where the car ended.

I went home to crunch numbers and continue some searching via the web.

I found a 2009 white Volkswagen Jetta at a dealer in Woodland Hills.  I couldn’t decide if I wanted to go.  Then I found a 2009 black Volkswagen Jetta in Santa Monica.  Better mileage, about the same price.  Why not?

So Amy joined me on the hunt.  I test drove the car and loved it!  We decided to start crunching numbers and while the salesmen wanted me to sign the papers last night, I took the night to think about it.  I wanted to make sure I wasn’t jumping into something and got the opinions of those people I trust.  Amy and I did an amazing job negotiating down but when I went back after work (only 2 hours after they opened and even though they were going to “try to hold” the car, it sold.)

They had a similar one of the same price and more mileage.  I went to inspect it just as one of my good friends/managers/awesome car guy showed up.  It took about 10-15 minutes to realize this one was NOT up to the same level as the one sold.  We walked the lot.  We looked at the white model I had also looked at yesterday.  And then we spotted it.

The 25,000 mile model with the least scratches, almost the same price and overall better extra features.  I don’t think I need navigation, but heck, I’m gonna have it!  We took it for a test drive and it felt amazing.  I felt good.  I felt like I could be driving my next car.  I got the “I would buy this car!” from Justin which I consider one of the best stamps of approval.  We started negotiating.  It wasn’t easy but I got a really good deal.  At least I think so and that’s really what counts.

They’re fixing up a few things and it should officially be mine by Tuesday.  I can’t believe it and I couldn’t be happier!  I’m about to start driving around a car that makes me feel safe, secure and is super AWESOME!  I’ll share more pictures once it’s in my hands!

This entry was posted in Grateful Season, Talk Less Say More and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Let’s Make a Deal

  1. Pingback: She’s a Beauty | Talk Less, Say More

  2. Pingback: adventurous april: the final recap. - meals & moves | meals & moves

Leave a Reply

